Spain Dominate Team Of The Year Nominations

Out of 55 names included on the list for the team of the year award, Spain's victory at Euro 2008 has seen more than half their squad put forward for nomination.Spain dominate the nominations for the team of the year award with no less than 13 of the squad that won the European Championships in the summer included in the list of 55 candidates.
Goalkeepers: René Adler (Bayer Leverkusen), Igor Akinfeev (CSKA Moscow), Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Petr Cech (Chelsea), Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United).
Right backs: Aleksandr Anyukov (Zenit St. Petersburg), José Boswingwa (Chelsea), Maicon (Inter), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal).
Left Backs: Joan Capdevila (Villarreal), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), Yuri Zhirkov (CSKA Moscow).
Central defenders: Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), Ricardo Carvalho (Chelsea), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Carlos Marchena (Valencia), Pepe (Real Madrid), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), John Terry (Chelsea), Tomás Ujfalusi (Atlético de Madrid), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United).
Central Midfielders: Mehmet Aurélio (Real Betis), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona), Marcos Senna ((Villarreal), Anatoliy Tymoshchuk (Zenit St. Petersburgo), Konstantin Zyryanov (Zenit St. Petersburgo).
Right-sided Midfielders: Hamit Altintop (Bayern Munich), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Javier Zanetti (Inter).
Left-sided Midfielders: Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona), Franck Ribéry (Bayern Munich), Arjen Robben (Real Madrid), David Silva (Valencia), Wesley Sneijder (Real Madrid).
Attacking midfielders: Andrei Arshavin (Zenit St. Petersburgo), Michael Ballack (Chelsea), Cesc Fàbregas (Arsenal), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Luka Modric (Tottenham Hotspur).
Forwards: Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal), Sergio Agüero (Atlético de Madrid), Karim Benzema (Olympique Lyonnais), Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus), Daniel Güiza (Fenerbahçe), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Inter), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Fernando Torres (Liverpool), David Villa (Valencia).
Coaches: Dick Advocaat (Zenit St. Petersburgo), Luis Aragonés (Fenerbahçe), Alex Ferguson (Manchester United), Temuri Ketsbaia (Anorthosis Famagusta), Fatih Terim (Turkey).
Luis Aragonés is also one of the nominees for coach of the year alongside Champions League victor Sir Alex Ferguson and UEFA Cup winner Dick Advocaat among others.
In its eighth year, the online poll puts forward the best players in their position over the past 12 months and this term 13 of Spain's squad from Euro 2008 are included.
Iker Casillas, Sergio Ramos, Joan Capdevilla, Carlos Marchena, Carles Puyol, Xavi Hernández, Marcos Senna, Andrés Iniesta, David Silva, Cesc Fábregas, Daniel Güiza, Fernando Torres and David Villa are all there in what could be a clean sweep for la Furia.Manchester United have six members of their squad that won the English Premier League title and the Champions League against Chelsea in Moscow while the majority of Europe's big club have a representative in the list.


Post a Comment


© Copyright 2010 Football Lovers