Del Piero, Ibrahimovic And Kaka Nominated For Serie A Award

It looks like a straight fight between the Juve and Inter men for Serie A's Player of the Year Award, as Kaka failed to impress last term. The Italian Footballer's Association (ACI) has announced the nominees for the 'Oscar Del Calcio 2008' (Player of the Year) awards and, as expected, all the usual suspects have made the list. The winners are voted for by their fellow professionals but the best referee and coach are also up for the prize. Milan's Kaka won the best player of the year accolade last term, and Juventus star Alessandro Del Piero, who finished last season as Serie A's top scorer, is amongst the favourites to scoop the golden statue this time. The Bianconeri legend has never won the award, which has been running since 1997. Here is the complete list of this year's years candidates. The winners will be announced on January 19th at the annual ACI awards ceremony. Best Italian Footballer: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus), Daniele De Rossi (Roma), Andrea Pirlo (Milan) Best Foreign Player: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Inter), Ricardo Kaka' (Milan), Adrian Mutu (Fiorentina) Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Sebastien Frey (Fiorentina), Julio Cesar (Inter) Best Defender: Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Phillipe Mexes (Roma), Alessandro Nesta (Milan) Best Youngster: Mario Balotelli (Inter), Sebastian Giovinco (Juventus), Marek Hamsik (Napoli) Best Coach: Carlo Ancelotti (Milan), Cesare Prandelli (Fiorentina) Best Referee: Emidio Morganti, Roberto Rosetti, Massimiliano Saccani.


Post a Comment


© Copyright 2010 Football Lovers